Friday, July 12, 2019

Electromagnetic Spectrum

The electromagnetic spectrum is the range or spectrum of frequencies related to electromagnetic radiation, their respective wavelengths, and their energies. The wave frequencies are said to range from below one hertz to above 10 hertz, corresponding to wavelengths from thousands of kilometers down to a fraction of the size of an atomic nucleus. This frequency range is divided into separate bands, and the various electromagnetic waves within each frequency band have been assigned different names. Beginning with short, high-frequency, high-energy wavelengths, there are:

1.   Gamma radiation
2.   X-ray radiation
3.   Ultraviolet radiation
4.   Visible radiation
5.   Infrared radiation
6.   Terahertz radiation
7.   Microwave radiation
8.   Radio waves

No comments: